How to Watch Dragon Ball Series in Order: A Comprehensive Guide

Dragon Ball series is a popular anime that has been around for nearly 40 years. It is a long-running franchise with multiple series, movies, and specials. For someone new to the series, it can be difficult to figure out how to watch Dragon Ball in order. There are different ways to watch the series, and it can be confusing to determine which order to follow.

One way to watch the Dragon Ball anime is in release order. This means watching the series and movies in the order they were released. Another way is to watch it in chronological order, which means watching it in the order the events take place in the Dragon Ball universe. Some fans prefer to watch it in canonical order, which means following the original manga storyline. Each method has its benefits, and it ultimately depends on the viewer’s preference.

In this article, we will explore the different ways to watch Dragon Ball in order. By the end of this article, readers will have a clear understanding of how to watch Dragon Ball in order and be able to enjoy the series to its fullest.

Understanding the Dragon Ball Series

Dragon Ball is a Japanese anime television series that revolves around the life of Goku, a martial artist with superhuman abilities. The series is divided into several parts, each with its own unique storyline and set of characters. To fully understand the Dragon Ball series, it is important to know the different parts and their order.

Dragon Ball Parts

The Dragon Ball series consists of five main parts:

  1. Dragon Ball
  2. Dragon Ball Z
  3. Dragon Ball GT
  4. Dragon Ball Super
  5. Dragon Ball Heroes

Each part has its own story arc, characters, and themes. The first part, Dragon Ball, follows the adventures of a young Goku as he trains in martial arts and searches for the seven mystical Dragon Balls. The second part, Dragon Ball Z, takes place several years later and follows an adult Goku as he battles powerful foes to protect his family and friends. Dragon Ball GT is a sequel to Dragon Ball Z and features a new story arc and characters. Dragon Ball Super takes place after the events of Dragon Ball Z and features new characters and storylines. Dragon Ball Heroes is a spin-off series that features characters from all parts of the Dragon Ball series.

The Order of Watching

To fully understand the Dragon Ball series, it is important to watch the parts in the correct order. The recommended order is as follows:

  1. Dragon Ball
  2. Dragon Ball Z
  3. Dragon Ball GT (optional)
  4. Dragon Ball Super
  5. Dragon Ball Heroes (optional)

Watching the parts in this order will allow the viewer to follow the story arc and character development in a logical sequence. It is also important to note that there are several Dragon Ball movies and specials that can be watched in conjunction with the main parts to enhance the viewing experience.

In conclusion, understanding the Dragon Ball series requires knowledge of the different parts and their order. By following the recommended order of watching, viewers can fully appreciate the story arc and character development of this popular anime series.

Dragon Ball Movies

In addition to the TV series, there are also several Dragon Ball movies that fans can enjoy. These movies are not essential to the main storyline, but they can provide additional entertainment and backstory for the characters.

Here are some of the most popular Dragon Ball movies, listed in chronological order:

Movie TitleRelease Date
Dragon Ball: Curse of the Blood Rubies1986
Dragon Ball: Sleeping Princess in Devil’s Castle1987
Dragon Ball: Mystical Adventure1988
Dragon Ball: The Path to Power1996
Dragon Ball Z: Dead Zone1989
Dragon Ball Z: The World’s Strongest1990
Dragon Ball Z: The Tree of Might1990
Dragon Ball Z: Lord Slug1991
Dragon Ball Z: Cooler’s Revenge1991
Dragon Ball Z: The Return of Cooler1992
Dragon Ball Z: Super Android 13!1992
Dragon Ball Z: Broly – The Legendary Super Saiyan1993
Dragon Ball Z: Bojack Unbound1993
Dragon Ball Z: Broly – Second Coming1994
Dragon Ball Z: Bio-Broly1994
Dragon Ball Z: Fusion Reborn1995
Dragon Ball Z: Wrath of the Dragon1995
Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Gods2013
Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection ‘F’2015
Dragon Ball Super: Broly2018

It’s worth noting that some of these movies take place during specific points in the Dragon Ball timeline. For example, Dead Zone takes place between the Saiyan and Namek sagas of Dragon Ball Z, while Battle of Gods and Resurrection ‘F’ take place after the events of Dragon Ball Z but before Dragon Ball Super.

Overall, the Dragon Ball movies offer a fun and exciting way to experience the world of Dragon Ball outside of the TV series. Fans can watch them in any order they choose, but watching them in chronological order can provide a better understanding of the timeline and how the movies fit into the overall Dragon Ball universe.